‘Four Color Memories’ – by K. Patrick Glover – Installment the Eighth, In Which We Briefly Look Forward and Not Back


‘Four Color Memories’ by K. Patrick Glover

K. Patrick Glover is the writer of the upcoming webcomic The Invisible Skein, which is being illustrated by Amanda Hayes, and the first chapter of the story is set to appear on the web on December 14th.

‘Four Color Memories’ is a column about the comics of our youth, full of nostalgia for the days when heroes were heroes and villains were villains, before the Avengers were DARK and before the Lanterns were BLACK.

To see a directory of previous installments of the column, please click here!

Installment the Eighth

In Which We Briefly Look Forward and Not Back

Well, it’s that time of the week again, suddenly, and here you are, ready to be entertained by my vaguely coherent rambling about the past. Except this week is a little different then most, as my thoughts are largely occupied by the scheduled launch (on Monday, just two days away) of my own online comic, The Invisible Skein.

I thought long and hard about what to do here (almost twelve minutes, to be precise), and came up with two possible choices. I could force my way through a column that I just can’t muster up the interest to write and provide you with a product that, frankly, would bore you to tears (assuming that isn’t your normal reaction to my musings) or I can spend the time telling you a little bit about Skein, where the series will be going in the future and why it exists in the first place.

Can you guess what choice I made?

So, The Invisible Skein is a long form web comic, written by yours truly and illustrated with great panache by the one and only Amanda Hayes. It deals primarily with conspiracy theories and urban legends, but hopefully does it in a way that’s new and interesting. Our goal isn’t to preach, to support or to debunk, it’s to entertain and every choice we make is made in service of that goal.

While the overall series is very much an ongoing concern (in fact the first year and a half of story is already plotted out), the series will be structured much like a standard comic book, with stories broken down into issues. The main reason for this is a simple one, as each story is completed (and they each run thirty six pages), the issue will become available for purchase in an honest to gosh comic book. If you prefer larger chunks, trade paperbacks will also be available at some point.

Why are we doing it this way? Well, we’re online because we want to reach the widest possible audience. We want the work out there, we want you to read it and enjoy it. We also intend to do a few conventions next year, so the single issues satisfy our desire to have a product on the table to help promote the series. They’ll also come in handy when we want to shove our work into the hands of various editors while shouting, “Look what we can do.”

Rather than try to tell you about the plot, I think I’ll let one of the characters speak for herself:


Hi, I’m Ali Leighter, the field agent for agoraphobic genius and counter-culture hero Robert Deveraux, known on the ‘net as the enigmatic Digger. Digger used to be an agent for the FBI, but that was before they tried to kill him when he got too close to the truth.

What truth, you ask? The truth behind all of it, from alien abductions and crop circles to the Illuminati and the JFK assassination, behind all of the myth and all the deceit, Robert caught a glimpse of a single, underlying truth, a tangled web of hidden connections, an invisible skein…

I hope you’ll join us this Monday, December 14th, for the launch of The Invisible Skein. I’ll see you back here next week, with an actual column instead of a sales pitch.

Take care,

K. Patrick Glover


Discuss this on Hypergeek’s forums

Related posts:

  1. ‘Four Color Memories’ by K. Patrick Glover - Installment the Second, in Which Fear and Loathing is Entirely Appropriate
  2. ‘Four Color Memories’ - by K. Patrick Glover - Installment The Sixth, In Which We Happily Spend Money Like Good Little Consumers
  3. ‘Four Color Memories’ By K. Patrick Glover - Installment The Fourth, In Which Worlds Collide
  4. ‘Four Color Memories’ By K. Patrick Glover - Installment The Fifth, In Which We Meet The Three Kings
  5. ‘Four Color Memories’ by K. Patrick Glover - Installment The First, In Which Parameters Are Set


One Response to “‘Four Color Memories’ – by K. Patrick Glover – Installment the Eighth, In Which We Briefly Look Forward and Not Back”


Check out what others are saying about this post...
  1. [...] You can find the comic at http://theinvisibleskein.com, and to find out Kevin’s thoughts on the launch of the comic, make sur to check out this week’s edition of ‘Four Color Memories’, here! [...]

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!