Winners of the 2011 The Doug Wright Awards Announced


The Doug Wright Awards were held on Saturday evening, as part of the 2011 Toronto Comic Arts Festival.

The DWAs were established in 2004 to “recognize the best in English-language comics (or translations of French) by Canadians living at home and abroad.”

The nominees in each category are listed below, with the winners highlighted in bold.


  • Bigfoot by Pascal Girard (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Chimo by David Collier (Conundrum Press)
  • Lose #2 by Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)
  • Moving Pictures by Kathryn Immonen, Stuart Immonen (Top Shelf Productions)
  • Streakers by Nick Maandag


  • Aaron Costain, Entropy #5
  • Alex Fellows, Spain and Morocco
  • Keith Jones, Catland Empire (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • James Stokoe, Orc Stain Vol. 1 (Image)
  • Tin Can Forest (aka Marek Colek and Pat Shewchuk), Baba Yaga and the Wolf (Koyama Press)


  • Indoor Voice by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • Stooge Pile by Seth Scriver (Drawn and Quarterly)
  • So I’ve Been Told by Maryanna Hardy (Conundrum Press)
  • Spotting Deer by Michael DeForge (Koyama Press)
  • Wowee Zonk #3 edited by Patrick Kyle, Ginette Lapalme and Chris Kuzma (Koyama Press)

The winners were selected by a committee of Sara Quin, Michael Redhill, Anita Kunz, Marc Bell and Mark Medley. They worked from the above nominee list, which were selected by a a committee of Chester Brown, Seth, Jerry Ciccoritti, Bryan Munn and Sean Rogers.

Source: The Comics Reporter

Related posts:

  1. Winners of the 2011 Stumptown Comic Art Awards Announced
  2. Winners of the 2010 Diamond Gem Awards Announced
  3. Nominees Announced for the 2011 Joe Shuster Awards
  4. Winners of the Inaugural Stan Lee Awards Announced!
  5. 2011 Stumptown Comic Arts Awards - Final Nominees Announced

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!