2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalists Announced


The 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalists have been announced. The prizes are awarded the night before the weekend’s Festival of Books, which will take place in 2011 at its new home, the campus of USC. The complete list of finalists can be seen here.

This year is the second year that the awards have included a category for Graphic Novels. I’m very pleased to see Jim Woodring‘s Weathercraft get a nod this year, as it was a truly exceptional book. This year’s list also includes two newcomers, with Adam Hines and Dash Shaw. See the list below:

Graphic Novel
Adam Hines, “Duncan the Wonder Dog: Show One” (Adhouse Books)
Dash Shaw, “Bodyworld” (Pantheon)
Karl Stevens, “The Lodger” (KSA Publishing)
C. Tyler, “You’ll Never Know, Book Two: Collateral Damage” (Fantagraphics)
Jim Woodring, “Weathercraft” (Fantagraphics)

Related posts:

  1. Free Comic Book Day 2010 Full Line-up of Gold & Silver Comic Books Announced
  2. Free Comic Book Day 2010 Gold Comic Book Lineup Announced
  3. BOOM! Studios’ Schedule for the The Los Angeles Times Festival of Books ’10
  4. Fantagraphics 2010 Preview Exhibition Opens on January 9th
  5. 2010 Harvey Award Winners Announced

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!