More Special Guests Announced for Comic-Con 2011


From the press release:

Comic-Con International: San Diego (Comic-Con), the largest comic book convention of its kind in the world, has announced two dozen additional special guests for this year’s convention. Artist Joëlle Jones, author Sherrilyn Kenyon, writer Grant Morrison, and writer/artist/publisher Jim Steranko join 20 fellow comics creators who have recently committed for Comic-Con 2011 in San Diego.

The first wave of 20 special guests was announced by Comic-Con in October of last year.

“We received great feedback from comics fans with our initial announcement,” said David Glanzer, Comic-Con’s director of marketing and public relations. “The addition of more special guests to an already stellar roster showcasing the best in the comics community is something our attendees have come to expect.”

Comic-Con 2011 will be held July 21-24 at the San Diego Convention Center. Passes to the show’s Preview Night on July 20 were sold out during this summer’s 2010 convention, although more four-day passes with Preview Night may be released closer to the show, depending on returns or cancellations. While there is still no specific date for the opening of general registration, Comic-Con expects it to occur before the end of January.

For the running list of 2011 special guests visit

Following are the 24 new guests confirmed with today’s announcement:

Sergio Aragonés (cartoonist, Groo, MAD magazine)
Ed Benes (artist, Justice League of America, Birds of Prey)
Anina Bennett (writer/editor, Heartbreakers, Boilerplate)
Yves “Balak” Bigerel (French writer/artist, Lord of Burger)
Chester Brown (writer/artist, Yummy Fur, Louis Riel, Paying for It)
Ernie Chan (artist, Conan, Batman, Jonah Hex)
Jo Chen (artist, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Runaways, Xbox Fable)
Seymour Chwast (illustrator, graphic designer)
Dick DeBartolo (writer, MAD magazine)
Tony DeZuniga (artist, Jonah Hex, Conan the Barbarian)
Eric Drooker (painter, graphic novelist, Flood, Blood Song, Howl)
Mark Evanier (writer, comics historian, Kirby: King of Comics)
Joyce Farmer (cartoonist, Wimmen’s Comix, Special Exits)
Paul Guinan (artist, Heartbreakers, Boilerplate)
Joëlle Jones (artist, You Have Killed Me, Troublemaker)
Sherrilyn Kenyon (author, Dark-Hunter series, Lords of Avalon series)
Richard A. and Patricia Lupoff (writers, fanzine pioneers)
Patrick McDonnell (cartoonist, Mutts)
Grant Morrison (writer, All Star Superman, Batman Incorporated)
Alex Niño (artist, Conan, Heavy Metal, God the Dyslexic Dog)
Steranko (writer/artist/publisher, Nick Fury Agent of S.H.I.E.L.D., Prevue)
Cameron Stewart (artist, Seaguy, Seven Soldiers; writer/artist, Sin Titulo)
Dave Stewart (award-winning colorist)

On the web:,,

Related posts:

  1. Baltimore Comic-Con Thanks Fans and Announces 2011 Dates and Guests!
  2. Brian Michael Bendis is First Guest of Honor at C2E2; Featured Guests Announced
  3. Paul Cornell, Scott Snyder, and More Guests Announced for C2E2
  4. Tickets for Comic-Con International: San Diego 2011 Go On Sale Monday, November 1st!
  5. Free Comic Book Day 2011 Gold Comic Books Announced

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!