2008 Eisners Award Results


I follow a lot of comic creators on Twitter. Many of these creators seem to take Twitter with them everywhere they go, letting people know every single thing they are up too. Well, tonight several creators were sending “as it happens” information from the 2008 Eisner awards ceremonies. There was a massive torrent of data appearing on screen, mostly coming from Matt Fraction. Most of the information sent was short and to the point, and didn’t really give many details on who was winning what reward. But, if you pieced together information from several twitterers (sic?) it was possible to figure out several of the awards.

Luckily, you don’t have to. Fellow blogger Kevin Huxford has put together all the pieces for you, so go check out his blog Schwapp Online. I’m even quoted in there a couple of times

Afterward, I stayed up till 4 a.m. (PST) checking around various sources to piece together the complete list of awards. I’m sure all this will turn up on Newsarama/CBR tomorrow morning, but here are the awards given out:

Best Anthology - 5, by Gabriel Bá, Becky Cloonan, Fábio Moon, Vasilis Lolos, and Rafael Grampa

Best Single Issue - Justice League of America #11: “Walls”, by Brad Meltzer and Gene Ha (DC)

Best Mini-Series - The Umbrella Academy, by Gerard Way and Gabriel Bá (Dark Horse)

Best Short Story
- “Mr. Wonderful”, by Dan Clowes (serialized in New York Times Sunday Magazine)

Best Continuing Story - Y: The Last Man, by Brian K. Vaughan, Pia Guerra, and Jose Marzan, Jr. (DC/Vertigo)

Best New Series
- Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 8, by Joss Whedon, Brian K. Vaughan, Georges Jeanty, and Andy Owens (Dark Horse)

Best Publication For Kids - Mouse Guard: Fall 1152, and Mouse Guard: Winter 1152, by David Petersen (Archaia)

Best Publication For Teens - Laika, by Nick Abadzis (First Second)

Best Digital Comic - Sugarshock!, by Joss Whedon and Fabio Moon

Best Reality Based Work - Satchel Paige: Striking Out Jim Crow, by James Sturm and Rich Tommaso

Best Graphic Album (New) - Exit Wounds, by Rutu Modan (Drawn & Quarterly)

Best Graphic Album (Reprint)
- Mouse Guard: Fall 1152, by David Petersen (Archaia)

Best Archival Collection/Project (Comic Strips) - Complete Terry and the Pirates, vol. 1, by Milton Caniff (IDW)

Best Archival Collection/Project (Comic Books) - I Shall Destroy All the Civilized Planets! by Fletcher Hanks (Fantagraphics)

Best Humour Publication - Perry Bible Fellowship: The Trial of Colonel Sweeto and Other Stories, by Nicholas Gurewitch (Dark Horse)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material
- I Killed Adolf Hitler, by Jason (Fantagraphics)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material (Japan)
- Tekkonkinkreet: Black & White, by Taiyo Matsumoto (Viz)

Best Writer
- Ed Brubaker, Captain America, Criminal, Daredevil and Immortal Iron Fist (Marvel)

Best Writer/Artist - Chris Ware, Acme Novelty Library #18 (Acme Novelty)

Best Writer/Artist (Humour) - Eric Powell, The Goon (Dark Horse)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (Interior) - Eric Powell, The Goon: Chinatown (Dark Horse)

Best Artist/Penciller/Inkeror Penciller/Inker Team - Pia Guerra/Jose Marzan, Jr., Y: The Last Man (Vertical/DC)

Best Colorist/Coloring - Dave Stewart, B.P.R.D., Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Cut, Hellboy, Lobster Johnson, The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse); The Spirit (DC)

Best Letterer/Lettering
- Todd Klein, Justice, Simon Dark (DC); Fables, Jack of Fables, Crossing Midnight (Vertigo/DC); League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Black Dossier (WildStorm/DC); Nexus (Rude Dude)

Best Cover Artist - James Jean, Fables (Vertigo/DC); The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse); Process Recess 2; Superior Showcase 2 (AdHouse)

Special Recognition Award - Chuck BB, Black Metal (artist, Oni)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism - Newsarama, produced by Matt Brady and Michael Doran

Best Comics-Related Book - Reading Comics: How Graphic Novels Work and What They Mean, by Douglas Wolk (Da Capo Press)

Best Publication Design - Process Recess 2, designed by James Jean and Chris Pitzer (AdHouse)

The Will Eisner Award Hall of Fame
- Barry Windsor-Smith

The Bill Finger Award For Excellence In Comic Book Writing - Larry Lieber

Related posts:

  1. SDCC 2008 - Update #2
  2. What I’m Buying - Week of Wed 23-July-2008
  3. SDCC 2008 - My Coverage
  4. SDCC 2008 - Update #1
  5. Weekly Shipping list for Wed 23 July 2021

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!