Robert Kirkman to Write Trilogy of The Walking Dead Novels, Starting with Rise of the Governor!


Yesterday evening, the official Twitter account of Skybound Entertainment, revealed that Robert Kirkman will be writing a trilogy of The Walking Dead tie-in novels!

The first book in this trilogy will be titled ‘Rise of the Governor‘, and will explore the origins of one of the series’ most despised antagonists, the Governor of Woodbury.

Rise of the Governor will be co-written by Robert Kirkman and horror novelist Jay Bonansinga. The book will be released by Thomas Dunne Books on September 27, 2021. You can pre-order a copy now from for $16.49.

Here are the book’s details, and the blurb:

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Govenor
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Thomas Dunne Books (September 27, 2021)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0312547730

Product Description

Following in the footsteps of the New York Times bestselling graphic novels and the record-breaking new television show, this debut novel in a trilogy of original Walking Dead books chronicles the back story of the comic book series greatest villain, The Governor

In The Walking Dead universe, there is no greater villain than The Governor. The despot who runs the walled-off town of Woodbury, he has his own sick sense of justice: whether it’s forcing prisoners to battle zombies in an arena for the townspeople’s amusement, or chopping off the appendages of those who cross him. The Governor was voted “Villain of the Year” by Wizard Magazine the year he debuted, and his story arc was the most controversial arc in the history of The Walking Dead comic book series. Now, for the first time, fans of The Walking Dead will discover how The Governor became the man he is, and what drove him to such extremes.

About the Author

ROBERT KIRKMAN is best known for his work on TheWalking Dead and Invincible for Image Comics, as well as Ultimate X-Men andMarvel Zombies forMarvel Comics. He is one of the five partners of Image Comics and is an executive producer and writer on The Walking Dead television show.

JAY BONANSINGA is a critically-acclaimed horror novelist whose works include Perfect Victim, Shattered, Twisted, and Frozen. His debut novel, The BlackMariah, was a finalist for a Bram Stoker award.
ISBN-13: 978-0312547738

Related posts:

  1. Robert Kirkman Answers Fan Questions About The Walking Dead Season 1
  2. AMC in Talks to Have Frank Darabont Adapt Robert Kirkman’s Zombie Epic The Walking Dead for TV
  3. Image Comics and Robert Kirkman Celebrate the 75th Issue of Invincible and The Walking Dead
  4. comiXology, Image Comics and Robert Kirkman Team Up to Debut Digital Comics App for Award Winning The Walking Dead Series
  5. New Images From the Set of AMC’s The Walking Dead

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!