ComicsPRO Announces 2011 Industry Appreciation Award Nominees


From the press release:

The direct market remains the way most comic-book stories get from creator to fan. ComicsPRO wants to honor those people who stand in that gap and help smooth the process. From publishers, distributors, marketers, creators and more, a lot of people are involved in bringing the stories we all love to market. ComicsPRO would like to stand up and recognize those who have been simply the best at what they do, making the comic-book direct market more successful for all of us.

ComicsPRO has created The ComicsPRO Industry Appreciation Award to honor these individuals, and the winners of the 2nd annual award will be announced at this year’s ComicsPRO Annual Membership Meeting in Dallas, Texas, from February 10-12.

There are two categories for the Industry Appreciation Award, one for professionals who are still active in the business of comics and a Memorial Award one for those who have passed away and left an indelible mark on the profession of comic book specialty retailing. After a period of accepting nominations from members, the ComicsPRO Board of Directors presents this final ballot. Members will vote for one Award recipient from each category.

The 2011 nominees for the ComicsPRO Industry Appreciation Award:

Steve Geppi
Denis Kitchen
Stan Lee
Bill Schanes
Bob Wayne

The 2011 nominees for the ComicsPRO Industry Appreciation Memorial Award:

Will Eisner
Jack Kirby
Julius Schwartz
Phil Seuling

The 2010 Industry Appreciation Award recipient was Paul Levitz, former president and publisher of DC Comics. The 2010 Industry Appreciation Memorial Award was presented in memory of Carol Kalish, a former Direct Sales Manager at Marvel Comics.

“The Industry Appreciation Award gives ComicsPRO members the opportunity to express gratitude to those who have contributed significantly to the business of selling comics in general and the Direct Market in particular,” said ComicsPRO Director Carr D’Angelo, co-owner of Earth-2 Comics, CA. “It’s our ‘Hall of Fame’ for those whose efforts make the world better for retailers.”

“ComicsPRO members are proud to highlight the achievements of the many people who have made this industry a better and more successful place to work,” said Amanda Emmert, ComicsPRO Executive Director. “The Board of Directors has a difficult time narrowing the ballot each year.”

Brief biographical notes that accompany the ballots for the award can be found on

ComicsPRO is the retailer trade and advocacy group representing comic book retailers across the U.S. and Canada. The goals of ComicsPRO are to be the united voice of advocacy for direct market retailers, to provide educational and mentoring opportunities to current and future retailers, and to offer opportunities to reduce some of the mutual fixed costs retailers incur. Information and membership applications are available at

Related posts:

  1. ComicsPRO’s Annual Meeting is “2011′s Most Crucial Comics Business Meeting”
  2. Robert Kirkman and Image Comics to Appear at This Year’s ComicsPRO Meeting
  3. The 2010 Will Eisner Comic Industry Award Nominees
  4. Comic Industry Reaches Consensus to Begin “Day-early” Shipping in 2011
  5. Twelve Eisner Award Winners, Nominees To Attend Wizard World New Orleans Comic Con, Jan. 29-30

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!